Infognition forum
October 24, 2017, 05:27:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Last Video Enhancer version: 2.2

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Trying to save an MPEG4 stream to an AVI file  (Read 20505 times)
markr

View Profile
« on: August 06, 2009, 11:32:52 PM »

I am new to directshow and I am amazed at the seemingly difficult task to learn it.  Why doesn't someone create a "how-to" guide for things like "this is how you save an AVI file", etc.  Anyway, if you have any suggestions as to more tutorials, etc. than just the Microsoft SDK Docs, I would appreciate it.

I have recently downloaded the GraphEditPlus evaluation and love it...I use the DirectShow.NET library in C# and have successfully created a graph that currently only renders a live preview from an IP camera.  I want to continue to display a live preview, but also want to record the video stream to an MJPEG4 file.  The Graph consists of the following:

IP Source->Smart Tee(Preview Pin)->Color Space Converter->Video Renderer (this was the original graph and works fine in C# and GraphEditPlus)
                Smart Tee(Capture Pin)->Color Space Converter->MS MPEG-4 Video Codec V3->AVI Mux->File Writer

I am not aware of any way to test the file saving branch within GraphEditPlus, since there is no property page to set the output file name and MediaType, which is required for the File Writer's IFileSinkFilter interface, specifically the SetFileName method.  So, GraphEditPlus cannot generate the complete C# code for a workable graph.  So, here's what I've done which causes an error:

1.  Create the ICaptureGraphBuilter2 and IFilterGraph objects
2.  Create all the IBaseFilter objects and add them to the graph
3.  Before connecting any Filter objects together, I create an IFileSinkFilter object as soon as the new FileWriter() object is created using this code: